Rice has been found to contain varying amounts of arsenic. Rice plants absorb arsenic from flooded paddy soils, but the amount and type of arsenic depends on many factors, such as the type of rice, the way the rice is grown, and the way it is processed. Rice soaks up arsenic more easily and at higher levels than other plants, making it a common source of arsenic for many people. As rice is a common alternative grain in the gluten-free diet, it is likely that people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten/wheat sensitivity have more arsenic exposure than those on a standard Western diet, which can negatively affect long-term health. Additionally, people with celiac disease may be more susceptible to health effects from arsenic due to nutritional deficiencies.
Arsenic in the Gluten-Free Diet: Are You At Risk?