Gluten-Free Diet

What is Gluten?

Read More »

Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (durum, emmer, spelt, farina, farro, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected (see […]

Sources of Gluten

Read More »

The following grains and their derivatives are sources of gluten: Wheat Varieties and derivatives of wheat such as: wheatberries durum emmer semolina spelt farina farro graham KAMUT® khorasan wheat einkorn wheat Rye Barley Triticale Malt in various forms including: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar Brewer’s […]

What Can I Eat?

Read More »

Cutting out gluten from your diet may seem like a difficult and limiting task. Fortunately, there are many healthy and delicious foods that are naturally gluten-free! In fact, the most cost-effective and healthy way to follow the gluten-free diet is to seek out these naturally gluten-free food groups, which include: fruits vegetables meat and poultry […]

Vitamins & Supplements

Read More »

There are a variety of nutritional deficiencies associated with celiac disease, primarily caused by the damaged small intestine not being able to properly absorb enough of the nutrients the human body needs. People recently diagnosed with celiac disease are commonly deficient in fiber, iron, calcium, magnesium, zinc, folate, niacin, riboflavin, vitamin B12, and vitamin D, […]

Medications

Read More »

In prescription and over-the-counter medicines, fillers (also called “inactive ingredients” or “excipients”) are added to the active drug. Fillers provide shape and bulk for tablets and capsules, aid in water absorption (helping the tablet to disintegrate), and serve other purposes as well. Fillers can be derived from any starch source, including corn, potatoes, tapioca and […]