The key to understanding the gluten-free diet is to become a good ingredient label reader. The following ingredients should not be consumed. They are derived from prohibited grains:
- Wheat (durum, graham, Kamut®, semolina, spelt)
- Malt, malt flavoring, malt vinegar (are generally made from barley, verify the source)
A label that declares a complete list of ingredients is safest. Labels must be read every time foods are purchased. Manufacturers can change ingredients at any time. As of 2006, wheat used in products will be identified on the label. You may verify ingredients by calling or writing a food manufacturer and specifying the ingredients and the lot number of the food in question. State your needs clearly – be patient, persistent and polite.
Domino's Gluten Free Pizza Crust
Celiac Disease Foundation (CDF) and Celiac Sprue Association (CSA) have reviewed the promotional materials from Domino's Pizza regarding their gluten free crust. Domino's Pizza materials state that the gluten free pizza offered is not recommended for those individuals with celiac disease. CDF and CSA recommend that individuals with celiac disease carefully review all representations made by gluten free food purveyors before determining if a food is appropriate for their personal diet, including those made by Domino's.
For more information, please click here.
Please also see statements from Center for Celiac Research and North American Society for the Study of Celiac Disease